Block Shapes

Scratch programming blocks come in different shapes, which can be connected to each other vertically like a jigsaw puzzle. Scripts are created by series of connected blocks. Each data type has its own shape and a specially shaped slot. There are five shapes of blocks:

  • Hat Blocks
  • Stack Blocks
  • Reporter Blocks
  • Boolean Blocks
  • Cap Blocks

1. Hat Blocks

A Hat Block is a block that starts the script, and is always placed on top of other blocks. The following is the general shape of a Hat Block.

Each Hat Block is activated by a specified method, so that different scripts can be started at different times.

2. Stack Blocks

A Stack Block is a rectangular block that can fit above or below other blocks, with a notch at the top and a bump on the bottom. A typical Stack Block looks like this:

Stack blocks perform the main commands, making up the majority of all the programming blocks.

3. Reporter Blocks

A Reporter Block is a block that contains a value, either numbers or strings. The following is the general shape of a Reporter Block.

Reporter blocks can fit wherever a value is needed, but can't stand alone. A Report Block can also fit into another Reporter block if there is a specific slot.

4. Boolean Blocks

A Boolean Block contains a condition, which can be either "true" or "false". A typical Boolean Block is an elongated hexagon, as follows:

Boolean Blocks fit in the corresponding hexagonal slots on other blocks, so they cannot stand alone either.

5. Cap Blocks

A Cap Block ends a script or project. Cap Blocks have a smooth bottom, so no other blocks can be placed under them, but blocks can be placed above a Cap Block. The following is the general type of a Cap Block.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""